Soccer Writer's Style Guide


North America's first and only soccer-specific style guide

FIFA tournaments

The year of the tournament always precedes the tournament name, such as the 2010 FIFA World Cup. On second reference, and when writing about major tournaments such as the World Cup, it is not necessary to identify FIFA.

FIFA World Cup

FIFA U-20 World Cup

FIFA U-17 World Cup

FIFA Confederations Cup

FIFA Club World Cup

FIFA Futsal World Cup

FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup

FIFA Youth Cup

FIFA Women’s World Cup

FIFA Women’s Club World Cup

FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup

FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup

See also: International federations, International tournaments, National teams


Filed under: FIFA tournaments